Government Of Kerala - A Brief Intro.

Like other states in India, Kerala Government has three organs namely the legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary. Each organ has its own functions to perform. The Legislature is the law making body.

Kerala have Unicameral Legislature. ie. there is only one house for state legislature namely the Legislative Assembly. Its members are elected directly by the people on the basis of adult suffrage. The members of the legislative assembly elect one of its members as its Speaker and another as Deputy Speaker. The Speaker presides over the meetings of the House and conducts its business.The Deputy Speaker performs the functions of the speaker in his absence.

The executive of the state consists of the Governor, the Chief Minister and the council of Ministers. The Governor is appointed by the President of India. The Governor is only the nominal head of the state. The Governor appoints the leader of the majority party in the Legislative Assembly, as the Chief Minister.

The other ministers are appointed by the Governor on the advice of the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is the real Head of the State Government. The council of ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly. Judiciary is seperated from the Executive and the Legislature and the constitution provides an independant and impartial judiciary.

Chief Minister - V S Achuthanandhan
Velikkakathu Sankaran Achuthanandan, Communist politician from Kerala, India. Polit Bureau member of Communist Party of India (Marxist) since 1985.

Born on 20 October 1923 in Alappuzha District of Kerala State, VS had to give up his studies after finishing VII standard. He entered the world of politics through Trade Union activities. Joined State Congress in 1938. Like many a young men of his age, he became disillusioned with the policies and politics of the Congress and he became member of the Communist Party in 1940

When Kerala was formed, the State was under President's rule. The new State went to the polls for the first time in March 1957. There were 126 Assembly and 16 Parliamentary seats. The Communist Party of India emerged as the single largest party in the Assembly with 60 seats. Shri E.M.S.Namboodiripad formed an 11 member ministry on April 5, 1957 with the support of some independents.

Political agitation and unrest extending over several months, culminated in the taking over of the administration of the State and the dissolution of the Legislative Assembly, under Article 356 of the Constitution, by the president of India, on July 31, 1959.

Can't find what you are looking for?
Please feel free to contact us with your exact requirements.